Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Gogosi

Posted by Jackie on September 12, 2009

Romania 2007 (15) 069

This was another of my favourite places! A little place on Str. Balcescu, selling gogosi (pronounced “goggosh”), which are basically hot doughnuts with a filling – I must admit I usually went for the chocolate, but they also did apricot, strawberry, jam, and it’s also possible to have savoury fillings though I don’t remember this lot doing them. Fortunately it was so hot that I couldn’t cope with them most days – in the winter I suspect I would have had at least one a day 🙂 The left hand window was where you placed your order and paid – I think the guy in the photo just got in front of me!

The other things they sold which I liked were covrigi (pronounced “covreej” – hard “j”) – which are salted bread, basically pretzels. Mmmmm.

23 July 2007

4 Responses to “Gogosi”

  1. I want a gogosi, I want a gogosi! Delicious sounding treat!

  2. Ian said

    As do I! They sound wondrous. Mmmmmmmm.

  3. Jackie said

    They were stunning. Funnily enough I really really don’t like British doughnuts, and I’m not at all sure what the difference is. Maybe gogosi were less sugary or something.

  4. ferijen said

    mmmm tasty

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
