Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Canicula advice

Posted by Jackie on August 7, 2009

Romania 2007 (15) 024

This rather tatty and faded poster on a noticeboard of the Public Health Department is giving advice on how to survive the canicula – Romanian for “heatwave” (I think the French word is similar, “canicule” or something like that). Even now, having been away from Romania for a couple of years, having experienced the heat in the summers of 2006 and 2007 I still call hot weather “canicula” in my head (although, to be honest here in Scotland I don’t get that many opportunities to experience it!). I really can’t explain just how hot it was – I felt permanently exhausted, and was showering at least twice a day, the heat was pretty relentless and only punctuated by occasional thunderstorms which only cleared the air for an hour or two before the heat came back! Anywhere that had air conditioning was highly sought after (by me anyway!).

20 July 2007

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
