Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Synagogue (1)

Posted by Jackie on May 31, 2009

Romania 2007 (12) 065 Romania 2007 (12) 066

I showed the exterior of the synagogue on Str. Constitutiei some time ago. As part of the Capital of Culture 2007 there was, amongst many other things, a festival of Jewish culture, and as part of that I had the privilege of being able to see inside the beautiful synagogue. The Jewish community in Sibiu (as elsewhere in Romania) is now very small, but very faithful and the people that remain work really hard to maintain the community and the fabric of the building, as well as the two or three Jewish cemeteries in Sibiu county. I was shown round by a lovely friendly young man, who explained the history of the building and the significance of the various parts of the synagogue, and who then very kindly let me wander round and take pictures. As this was a chance in a million (the synagogue didn’t seem to be open very much for the public other than at this time of the festival) I took rather a lot (!), and so I will share those pictures over the whole of the next week.

27 June 2007

2 Responses to “Synagogue (1)”

  1. m_m said

    Thanks for these photos! I have never been inside the synagogue! I will watch your next photos from it with great pleasure!

  2. Very interesting and beautiful pictures of the Synagogue interior. Thanks! Regards from EAGAN daily photo in friendly Minnesota, USA

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
