Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Sssshhhhh!!

Posted by Jackie on March 18, 2009

Romania 2007 (10) 046

Not the most riveting photo today, but I wanted to give a plug to the wonderful Silence Internet Cafe on Str. Mitropoliei, which was my second home – I spent time here pretty much every day keeping in touch with loved ones back home and keeping connected although I was so far away. It was a bit surreal getting regular emails from friends in Glasgow saying “It’s raining AGAIN” while I was sweltering in 40+ degree heat!

Anyway, hooray for Silence Internet Cafe, which played such a major role in maintaining my sanity!

10 June 2007

In other news, m_m from Nowy Sacz Daily Photo very kindly awarded me a Kreativ Blogger award.

kreativ_blogger_award_copy

I’m meant to award it to 7 other bloggers, but I visit so many other fantastic blogs it’s quite impossible to narrow it down to 7. I would though encourage you to visit m_m’s blog, there are some really fantastic pictures there 🙂

4 Responses to “Sssshhhhh!!”

  1. Hilda said

    Oh yes! Thank goodness for internet cafés everywhere!

    And congratulations on your award! I don’t think I have to tell you that I completely agree with m_m! But I think I just did anyway…

  2. m_m said

    Thanks for your words about our blog!:)I like this photo! It is so calm:)

  3. Ian said

    Congrats on the well-deserved award!

    And was there a reason the Internet cafe was so-named?

  4. Jackie said

    Ian: not that I’m aware of. Other than it seemed to be quite fashionable to appropriate foreign (especially English) words. It wasn’t a silent place, for sure – always KissFM Romania on the radio (with their playlist of about 10 songs played over and over and over and over – Rihanna’s “Umbrella” featured every day without fail) and people chatting and stuff.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
