Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Good cause

Posted by Jackie on February 17, 2009

Romania 2007 (10) 001

This sign, as far as I understand it, is encouraging people to donate 2% of tax (I think it’s something like the UK national insurance) to good causes. It looks like a win-win situation – it’s no further cost to the taxpayer, but comes out of the sum that’s already been paid in taxes. I don’t know if this was a one-off or if it’s something that can be done every year, but anyway it seemed like a good idea to me. Too bad the cut-off date was 3 weeks before I saw the ad (not that I paid taxes in RO anyway, but I don’t remember seeing this earlier for those people who did).

7 June 2007

One Response to “Good cause”

  1. Lunarossa said

    We’ve got something similar in Italy as well. Among the taxes Italians can choose to “donate” a small percentage to charities and to the Catholic Church. As if the Vatican stil needs that!!! Ciao. A.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
