Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Orthodox Cathedral

Posted by Jackie on January 10, 2009

Romania 2007 (8) 005

The Orthodox Cathedral on Str. Mitropoliei was having quite a lot of internal repairs going on with extensive scaffolding taking up a lot of room, so a lot of worshippers stood outside in the grounds and the service was relayed by loudspeakers. The choir I have to say sounded absolutely amazing when I walked past one Sunday. The one time I thought I would attend a service and stand outside I didn’t time it so well, and instead of getting there for the choir I got there for the sermon! As is I think common in Orthodox churches people seemed to come and go at any time and were quite chatty as they stood in the church grounds. I also noticed many people, as they walked along the street, would cross themselves as they walked past this (or any other) Orthodox church, even if they were in the middle of a conversation or on the phone.

3 June 2007

2 Responses to “Orthodox Cathedral”

  1. Hilda said

    People chatting outside while the service is going on, making the sign of the cross when walking past — sounds amazingly like Filipinos! 😀

    Looks like a beautiful cathedral, from what can be seen in this photo.

  2. Lunarossa said

    I agree, it could be Italy or Spain as well, apart from the flag on the left of course! Ciao. A.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
