Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Cathedral wall detail

Posted by Jackie on October 14, 2008

This was one of several sculpted scenes on the outer wall of the Cathedral.

22 May 2007

2 Responses to “Cathedral wall detail”

  1. Hilda said

    Interesting. The mesh screen is to protect it from people wanting to touch it?

    Would you happen to know who the figure is? I see a goblet on top of the mountain and I don’t know the biblical or religious reference.

    Uh, but if you don’t know the answer, that’s okay. I can’t help asking these questions — my husband rolls his eyes at me half of the time.
    🙂

  2. Jackie said

    Hi Hilda – good questions! I’m afraid there wasn’t any obvious information as to what the scene portrayed so I can’t help with that, sadly (do any of the Romanian readers know, I wonder? Va rog frumos, daca aveti informatie scrieti un comentariu – mersi mult!). Re the mesh, in the UK this type of mesh would be use to protect sculptures etc from pigeons more likely than people, but if I remember rightly this was quite low down on the wall so it is perhaps feasible that it would be to protect it from people as well.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
