Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Getting closer

Posted by Jackie on October 2, 2008

Here’s another view, getting a bit closer, to the Evangelical Cathedral (you can see Liars Bridge in the foreground). I’ll show some more of the Cathedral next week sometime.

22 May 2007

4 Responses to “Getting closer”

  1. Great pics, I’d love to visit your town

    Cheers

    http://reginainpictures.blogspot.com/

  2. Ian said

    Does “Evangelical” also have the meaning of “Protestant”, as I believe it does in German? [Not a subset of the Protestant church as I think it has now started to mean in English?]

  3. Jackie said

    Ian – in this case it is the German denomination (who I think are broadly Lutheran). Sibiu is a historic Saxon/German town and until the middle of the C20th had quite a significant German population (the majority left during the Communist era, and most of those who remained left after 1989). Certainly the notices on the notice board were in both Romanian and German. I’m not sure of the language of the actual services, though it wouldn’t surprise me if there was a service in German.

  4. Ian said

    Ah….interesting. Thank you.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
