Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

Another 15 minutes of fame

Posted by Jackie on September 11, 2008

I’ve already shared one of my “15 minutes of fame” stories over on Glasgow DP a while back, but I also have one from Sibiu! The day I visited Sibiu when I first came to Romania last year and was looking for a flat to live in, I wandered into the Town Hall (which was also the location of the Tourist Information Centre) to see if I could get a list of local estate agents. When I had finished discussing this with the very helpful woman at the desk, another woman came up to me and asked me in English if I could help her. It turned out she was a presenter for a Romanian news TV channel (N24 I think, if I remember rightly) and wanted to film me looking at the exhibition of paintings that was on display in the Town Hall and then do a quick interview with me! So it was that I was filmed looking knowingly and seriously at these paintings, and then I was filmed being asked (in English) if I thought they were an accurate representation of Sibiu Old Town (as it happened I did think so – I’ll show you a close up of a couple of them tomorrow). I never did see my moment of TV fame, but I’m sure I wowed the masses! 😉 When I got back to Sibiu a couple of weeks later to live, I went again to the exhibition (which is by a painter called Gheorghe Leahu) to have a proper look at them without the pressure of a camera in my face! The Town Hall people were also fine with me taking pictures, luckily!

I’m away for a few days, but pictures will still appear.

22 May 2007

One Response to “Another 15 minutes of fame”

  1. babooshka said

    I did not know you were such a celebrity. It’s good to see that Sibiu actively applauds it’s artists work.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
