Sibiu Daily Photo

A photo a day from the European Capital of Culture 2007

16th century Sibiu

Posted by Jackie on August 18, 2008

This picture wasn’t actually taken in Sibiu, but in Cluj, the largest city in Transylvania, a couple of days before I moved to Sibiu. Every year in several European countries, including Romania, one day is celebrated where museums which usually charge are free. So it was that my friend Emi and I went to Cluj’s History Museum that evening. The museum was candlelit, they had people in medieval costume, and the whole thing was gorgeous and really atmospheric.

I was really pleased to spot this picture, which is based on a 16th century engraving of Sibiu. As you can see it is labelled “Hermanstadt”, which is Sibiu’s German name. It is a Saxon town, and always had a significant German population. After 1989 the German population that hadn’t already left during the communist times mostly did leave, although now Sibiu has a (very popular) mayor who is from the German community.

19th May 2007

4 Responses to “16th century Sibiu”

  1. Ian said

    That style of picture of a town is my favourite; I love the detail and the style. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Kim said

    I love old city street drawings and maps, so this caught my eye right away in the portal. The candlelit museum must have offered such a fun atmosphere to explore everything as if back in time a bit. Did you find the area where you lived existed back then or was added on later in the city’s history. I have an old plot plan of the German city where my great grandmother grew up, and some of the relative’s houses in that village go back to the 1600’s or more. Here in the USA with the oldest areas of European American settlement being less than 400 years old, people consider 100 year old houses to be very old. Seeing communities that had a long history before medieval times is really cool.
    -Kim
    Seattle Daily Photo

  3. Jackie said

    Kim, I lived in the old town so yes, it was very close to here, although it doesn’t feature on this map. I certainly felt like I was living very close to history!

  4. babooshka said

    Now this is my kind of thing. Places names and we come by them fascinate me. The word Tansylvania too! Chills.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
